£ 12.50


ICSM 017


Original compositions and arrangements for unaccompanied choir by Jacques Cohen

  • Gaudete
  • The Lamb
  • Cradle Song
  • Vidit Lucem Magnam
  • O Magnam Mysterium
  • The Twelve Days of Christmas
  • Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind
  • I Saw Three Ships
  • I Wonder as I Wander
  • Anthem for Doomed Youth
  • In Flanders Fields

Oxford Camerata / Jaques Cohen, conductor

SKU: 017 Category:


Jacques Cohen is equally known as a conductor and a composer. He is the Music Director of the Cohen Ensemble and has conducted many of Europe’s finest orchestras. Some of his most performed compositions for strings, including Yigdal, Love Journeys and his string orchestra arrangement of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, are fast becoming staples of the repertoire.

Although he has written a great deal of instrumental and orchestral music, this disc testifies that Jacques is equally at home writing for voices.

Most of the pieces on this disc were originally written for Christmas concerts and services given by Lloyd’s Choir to perform at its Christmas Concerts conducted by Jacques Cohen in London. Only three of them (Gaudete, I Saw Three Ships and I Wonder as I Wander) are arrangements of pre-existing melodies. The others are all original compositions. Most of the Christmas pieces are part of the Cohen’s Carols anthology published by Norsk Musikforlag. As you will hear, some of them are serious, others are more fun. The disc is supplemented by Two Remembrance Anthems (Anthem for Doomed Youth and In Flanders Fields), also published by Norsk, which were originally written for the annual remembrance ceremony at Lloyd’s in London and which have remained a regular feature of that event.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “COHEN`S CAROLS”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *